Carrie Chapman Catt Public Engagement Award

Awarded to alumni of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences who have demonstrated outstanding achievement for their work with public entities at local, state, national or international levels.

The award recognizes the achievements of Carrie Chapman Catt who was a suffragist, early feminist, political activist and Iowa State alum. She was president of the National American Woman Suffrage Association and led the fight for ratification of the 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution. She also encouraged the formation of the League of Women Voters, a non-partisan educational group.


2018 Sharon Haselhoff, ’98 Political Science

2016 Elizabeth A. Baird (journalism and international studies ’76)

2015 Joanne Seymour Kuster (Home Economics Journalism ’76)

2014 Judith Goetsch Brandlin (Modern Language ’64)

2013 Christine Romans (Journalism & Mass Communication and French ’93)

2012 Joan Urenn Axel (History ’64)

2011 Sharon Miller Rodine (Political Science ’71)

2010 Adrienne C. Thomas (BA American History ’67; MA American History ’70)

2009 Kent Lucken, political science

2008 Thomas Twetten, psychology

2006 Kay Runge, history